Current Ph.D. students

Smiley face Raja Gopalan N.S.

Raja Gopalan has done his M.Sc. Biotechnology from Madras University. He is working on understanding several aspects of the molecular biology and biochemistry of plant-PGPR interaction, including the unusual phenomenon of conditional pathogenesis seen in some PGPR.

Smiley face Nikhil P.T.

Nikhil has a M.Sc. in Plant Sciences from the University of Hyderabad. He is studying various aspects of the physiological, biochemical and molecular biology of plant-PGPR interaction in rice.

Smiley face Raunak Sharma

Raunak has an M.Sc. in Agriculture Molecular Biology from G.B. Pant University of Agriculture and Technology. She is studying different aspects of the signaling mechanisms involved in plant-PGPR interaction for abiotic stress tolerance.

Smiley face Ratnadeep Bhattacharjee

Ratnadeep is an employee of Corteva Agriscience and is pursuing his part-time Ph.D. in our lab. He works on high throughput genotyping platforms to accelerate genetic gain in various crops. For his Ph.D. research, Ratnadeep brings in his experience in translational research towards crop improvement and product development.

Junior Research Fellow

Smiley face Atish Behera

Atish is currently working as JRF in a CSIR sponsored project about molecular mechanisms in PGPR mediated abiotic stress tolerance in plants. Atish has a M.Sc. in Biotechnology from Pondicherry University. He plans to join the Ph.D. programme soon.

Current M.E students

Smiley face Umema Faiz

Umema is pursuing her M.E. Biotechnology and is working towards her M.E. dissertation in our lab.

Graduated Ph.D. students

Smiley face Daipayan Ghosh, Ph.D.

Daipayan defended his Ph.D. thesis in June 2019. His research focused on mechanisms in PGPR- mediated drought tolerance in plants with emphasis on the metabolism of the compatible osmolyte, proline and phytohormones.

Current affiliation: Scientist (Molecular Biology), Pathkind Labs, Mankind Pharma, Gurgaon, India.

Smiley face Sunetra Sen, Ph.D.

Sunetra defended her Ph.D. thesis in June 2019. Her research focused on mechanisms in PGPR-mediated drought tolerance in plants with emphasis on the metabolism of important stress responsive molecules called polyamines.

Current affiliation: Editorial Reviewer, Cactus Communications, Mumbai, India.

Graduated M.E students

Smiley face

Shalini Akula
Last appointment: Assistant Professor of Biotechnology at CBIT

Smiley face

Diti Shah
Currently Master Data Specialist at Gilead Sciences, California, USA.

Smiley face

Anusha Valapadashi
Currently Ph.D. student, The University of Göttingen, Germany

Smiley face

Anshika Gupta
Currently Senior Scientist at Biocon Biologics, Bangalore

Smiley face

Kirti Suhag
Currently Ph.D. student, IIT, Delhi

Smiley face

Jagnaseni Burman

Smiley face

Akanksha Rai
Currently Medical Writing Intern at Parexel

Smiley face

Shivani Srivastava
Shivani is working primarily on rice-PGPR interaction for abiotic stress tolerance.